Text your zip code to GETVAX (438829) for English, or VACUNA (822862) for Spanish and receive three possible vaccination sites in your area, with phone numbers to call for an appointment.
If you need help, call the PA Department of Health Hotline at 1-877-724-3258.
Vax Facts FB Live Series
To help Pennsylvanians get the facts they need to make an informed decision about COVID-19 vaccines, we have created the “Vax Facts” Facebook Live Series. Each event includes a panel of doctors and healthcare workers who can answer your questions about COVID-19 and the vaccines.
On June 3, the PA Commission for Latino Affairs will be hosting a Vax Facts on Privacy & Safety for the Latinx Community at 12:00pm. The event details can be found on our Event Calendar.
Remember to Get Vaccinated Even if You Already Had COVID
You should get a vaccine even if you already had COVID-19 and got better. We don’t know how long you are protected from getting sick again after recovering from COVID-19. Getting a COVID-19 vaccine will help protect you by creating an antibody (immune system) response without getting sick. If you were treated for COVID-19 with monoclonal antibodies or convalescent plasma, you should wait 90 days before getting a COVID-19 vaccine.
Talk to your doctor or healthcare provider if you are unsure what treatments you received or if you have more questions about getting a COVID-19 vaccine.
Your Second Dose is Important
The Pfizer and Moderna vaccines both require a second dose for you to be fully vaccinated. If you get the Johnson & Johnson vaccine, you only need one dose.
Two weeks after your last dose, your immune system will be able to recognize and protect against COVID-19. You are not considered fully vaccinated until you get your second dose if you get the Pfizer or Moderna vaccine.
Once you get your last dose, snap a selfie, and share the great news on social media using the #GotMyShotPA hashtag. Encourage others to do the same. Avoid posting pictures of your vaccine card.
Guidance for Fully Vaccinated People
People who are fully vaccinated (two weeks after their final dose) can largely go back to doing the activities they did pre-pandemic without having to wear a mask or physically distance. However, everyone – including fully vaccinated people – must still follow mask guidance where required by law, rule, or regulations.
Many workplaces, businesses, schools, long-term care facilities, hospitals, prisons, and homeless shelters may still require masks, regardless of vaccination status. Under the CDC’s guidance, everyone must wear a mask on planes, buses, trains, and other forms of public transportation traveling into, within, or out of the United States, and in U.S. transportation hubs, such as airports and stations.
Please continue to be kind and respectful to each other as we continue to fight COVID-19 in our communities and continue to get residents vaccinated.
In Pennsylvania, the Secretary of Health’s universal face covering order remains in effect and unvaccinated individuals, including children, must still comply with the order. On June 28, or once 70 percent of Pennsylvanians over the age of 18 are fully vaccinated, Pennsylvania will lift the masking order.
The need for and timing of COVID-19 vaccine booster doses have not been established. No additional doses are recommended at this time. Public health officials predict that we may need boosters for the COVID-19 vaccines, especially as new variants spread.
We may need to develop a yearly COVID booster, just like we do with flu shots when new strains emerge from around the world. When you get a booster for a vaccine, you dramatically increase the level of protective antibodies.